Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of UK Serials Association held on Tuesday 31 March 2009 at the Riviera International Conference Centre, Torquay



1. Chair's Introduction and Confirmation of Quorum

The Chair welcomed members and confirmed that the meeting was quorate.

2. Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Wyeth Research Laboratories UK.

3. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of UK Serials Association held on 8 April 2008 at the Riviera International Conference Centre, Torquay

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting of UK Serials Association, held at the Riviera International Conference Centre, Torquay, were accepted as a true and accurate record of the proceedings.

4. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

5. Annual Reports of the Officers

The Officers' reports drew on the Report and Financial Statement of the Group for the year ended 31 December 2008 which had previously been circulated to the members. The officers highlighted certain items as follows:

5.1 Chair Paul Harwood referred to the written report and thanked Tony Kidd for all his work in pulling the report together, stating that it provided a clear and accurate picture of the Group.

Paul Harwood noted that Torquay had worked well as a venue for the annual conference and a good number of delegates had attended. New venues were still being sought for future conferences but it was confirmed that the 2010 conference would be held in Edinburgh, 12-14 April.

The Group's existing projects were progressing well. Ed Pentz had taken over from Nancy Buckley in chairing the Transfer project, Charlie Rapple was chairing KBART, and Richard Gedye continued to chair the Usage Factor Project. The committee was now looking at how to continue to take such initiatives forward and also considering any new project ideas that arose.

Paul Harwood recorded his thanks to all committee members, and to Alison Whitehorn and Karen Sadler for their assistance during his three years as Chair.

5.2 Secretary Tony Kidd echoed these thanks and also thanked Paul Harwood for his work as Chair.

Tony Kidd asked the meeting to note the contents of the Annual Report previously circulated and outlined that it was written to accord with the requirements of the Charity Commission. He stated that the next report would focus more on the provision of public benefit within the Group's activities. No questions were received on the report.

- **5.3 Treasurer** Nancy Buckley referred to the Income and Expenditure account for the year ended 31 December 2008 and noted that a surplus had been achieved on the 2008 Torquay conference and that this surplus would contribute to softening the costs of future more expensive venues. The Group's reserves stood at £265,476 at 31 December 2008. No questions were received on the report.
 - **5.3.1** Approval of Accounts for Year Ended 31 December 2008 Approval was proposed by Nancy Buckley, seconded by Richard Gedye and carried unanimously.
 - **5.3.2** Appointment of Auditors and Authorisation for Directors to Fix Their Remuneration Nancy Buckley proposed that A J Carter & Co Chartered Accountants be re-appointed as the Group's auditors. This proposal was seconded by Helen Henderson and carried unanimously.
 - **5.3.3 2010 Membership Subscription Rate** Nancy Buckley proposed that due to the current economic circumstances the current rate should remain at the 2009 level of £95.00 plus VAT for 2010. This proposal was seconded by Charlie Rapple and carried unanimously.
- **5.4 Education Officer** Graham Stone noted that a full schedule of events for 2008 was listed in the annual report. The Group continued to offer roadshows to universities as part of its charitable remit.

Graham Stone also noted that there were six students attending the conference on sponsored student places, as well as one student who had won a competition to present a breakout session, and he welcomed them all to the conference.

The E-Journal Technical Update continued to receive good feedback and would be relaunched as the E-Resources Technical Update, with three dates planned for 2009.

Graham Stone thanked Jill Taylor-Roe and Cliff Spencer for initiating and running the Usage Statistics course and noted that Tony Kidd and Terry Bucknell had now taken on the running of these.

Dates for a Licensing and Negotiation course were to be announced for 2009. A Further Education event and a Financial Management course were also scheduled to be introduced during the year.

A pilot webinar would also be offered, focusing on a current hot topic, and further webinars might be offered after the success of this initial event had been evaluated.

Graham Stone offered his thanks to all past and present members of the Education Subcommittee for their help during his time as Chair.

No questions were received on the report.

5.5 Marketing Officer Beverley Acreman referred to the annual report and reported that the E-Resources Management Handbook had been a focus of marketing effort, as well as publicising the Group's projects.

BA thanked all members of the Marketing Subcommittee for their hard work, and welcomed Charlie Rapple as the new Chair.

No questions were received on the report.

5.6 Publications Officers/Editors of Serials Hazel Woodward outlined changes made to the publications domain, with a new Publications Subcommittee being formed with responsibility for all publishing initiatives. The Editorial Board was responsible only for the production of *Serials*.

Hazel Woodward referred to the special conference print issue of *Serials* and reported that *Serials* would be issuing its first supplement with the November issue on the subject of e-books.

Hazel Woodward stated that the Group's JISCmail list – lis-e-journals – had been relaunched as lis-e-resources.

New basic introductory guides were also being planned.

No questions were received on the report.

6. Appointment of the Honorary Officers for 2009/10

One nomination only had been received for each of the three Honorary (Executive) Officer posts and the following candidates were therefore returned unopposed:

Chair Tony Kidd (University of Glasgow)

Secretary Graham Stone (University of Huddersfield)

Treasurer Ed Pentz (CrossRef)

7. Announcement of the Results of the Election for Members of the Committee for 2009/10

The five elected members of the Committee for 2009/10 were announced as follows:

Bev Acreman (Taylor & Francis)
Richard Gedye (Oxford University Press)
Claire Grace (Open University)
Sarah Pearson (University of Birmingham)
Kate Price (University of Surrey)

Continuing their tenure on the committee were Lesley Crawshaw (University of Hertfordshire), Ross MacIntyre (Mimas, The University of Manchester), Charlie Rapple (TBI Communications), Jill Taylor-Roe (University of Newcastle upon Tyne) and, as *ex officio* members, the Editors of *Serials*, Helen Henderson (Ringgold Ltd) and Hazel Woodward (Cranfield University).

Tony Kidd thanked all those candidates who had stood for election and reported that four co-options would be made in due course to complement the balance of the committee. He encouraged potential candidates to stand again in future years.

8. Any Other Business

Gordon Burridge of Southampton Solent University asked whether mid programme at the annual conference was the best place to stage the Group's Annual General Meeting. Tony Kidd explained that, as it was a legal requirement for the Group to hold an Annual General Meeting and the conference provided an opportunity for many members to be present, this was felt to be a suitable time.

The meeting was declared closed.

KPS/05.09